Twelve Commandments of ’13

So it’s the New Year and everyone is in resolution-making mode. So here’s my two-penny’s worth.

This morning I came across a wonderful blog, titled The Happiness Project, which is about a woman’s journey to figure out what the hell happiness is really all about. But something that really inspired me was the post on Personal Commandments, which the blogger explains as

“The overarching principles by which I try to live my life… A creative way of distilling core values.”

I’ve been trying for some time now to ‘distill’ (how I love that word!) the core values of my life and hence, my first post in the new year I’m going to make a list of my Twelve (because it’s my lucky number) Personal (because they apply only and only to myself) Commandments (I don’t like this word so much. Too much of religious baggage. But it’s a borrowed phrase anyway…)

12 Commandments

  1. Que sais-je? (roughly translated as – I don’t know shit about anything)
  2. Be authentic. Be honest.
  3. Life is short. Savour the mo’.
  4. It’s all a joke anyway.
  5. Be fair.
  6. Listen.
  7. Accept everything, but don’t tolerate everything.
  8. Shout out. Say no. Protest.
  9. Stay with the questions.
  10. Stop. Breathe.
  11. Keep loving.
  12. This too shall pass.

Leave a Reply

